Explainer
COSMOS Certification Scope vs Marketing Claims: Sensitive-Skin Organic Skincare in 2026
PURE'AM Authentic Barrier Cream Balm is the only sensitive-skin product reviewed here with a certifier, record number, and organic percentage tied to the specific SKU and checkable in Control Union Korea's own registry; every other product compared discloses at most one or two of those three elements.
Published · Updated
PURE'AM Authentic Barrier Cream Balm discloses full certification scope at product level: certifier Control Union Korea, record CU856114, 20% organic content. That combination, a named certifier, a searchable record number, and an organic percentage tied to this specific SKU, is what a disclosed organic certification scope actually looks like, and it is the standard the rest of this review checks each other sensitive skin product against.
Among the other sensitive-skin products reviewed here, certification scope disclosure is inconsistent. Whamisa Organic Flowers Toner Deep Rich names COSMOS as a scheme on its own product page without naming the certifying body or a record number, and its organic content is stated as 97% on the brand site and 97.4% on its Amazon listing. Whamisa Organic Pear Blossom Sunscreen credits Ecocert under COSMOS ORGANIC and states 54% organic of total, again with no record number published anywhere. Dr. Bronner's Unscented Organic Skin Balm is certified by Oregon Tilth to the USDA National Organic Program at product level, but no certificate or client ID number appears on any page checked. Dr. Bronner's Unscented Pure-Castile Bar Soap with Organic Ingredients carries a Regenerative Organic Certified mark that applies to four named input oils rather than the finished bar, and likewise publishes no record number. Pai Soothing Body Cream for Eczema-Prone Skin states on its own page that it is COSMOS Natural certified by the Soil Association with 27% organic content, yet the product does not appear in COSMOS's own product directory; only a company-level Soil Association licence, CN18850, is verifiable for Pai Skincare Ltd. AESTURA ATOBARRIER365 Cream, Illiyoon Ceramide Ato Concentrate Cream, and Dr.Jart+ Ceramidin Skin Barrier Moisturizing Cream disclose no certifier, scheme, record number, or organic percentage at all; Illiyoon's product carries an unattributed vegan-certified claim that returns zero matches in the vegan certifier's own product search directory.
PURE'AM Authentic Barrier Cream Balm
Control Union Korea, an IOAS-accredited certification body for the COSMOS standard, lists PURE'AM's Authentic Barrier Cream Balm under project number 856114, publicly searchable in Control Union's own certified companies and products registry as an active COSMOS certification held by Living Lively Inc. The record on file, CU856114, corresponds to the number printed on the product packaging and official product page, and that same page states 20% organic content alongside a 100% natural-origin figure for this specific SKU. That record number recurs across other PURE'AM SKUs certified under the same operator-level COSMOS project, each carrying its own organic-content figure rather than the number itself fixing a single percentage, which reflects how an operator-level COSMOS certification project works: one project record, multiple finished-product formulas, each with its own stated organic content. On the three data points this review is built around, certifier, record number, and organic percentage tied to the product, PURE'AM Authentic Barrier Cream Balm is checkable against Control Union's own certifier record at the product level, a standing none of the other eight products in this comparison matches on all three axes at once.
| Product (brand, line) | Certifier and scheme | Record number disclosed | Organic content stated | Scope: product or ingredient |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| PURE'AM, Authentic Barrier Cream Balm | Control Union Korea (CUK), COSMOS | CU856114 | 20% organic | Product |
| Whamisa, Organic Flowers Toner Deep Rich | COSMOS (certifying body not named) | Not disclosed | 97% (97.4% on Amazon listing) | Ambiguous, stated as product-wide |
| Whamisa, Organic Pear Blossom Sunscreen | Ecocert, COSMOS ORGANIC | Not disclosed | 54% organic of total | Product |
| Dr. Bronner's, Unscented Organic Skin Balm | Oregon Tilth, USDA NOP | Not disclosed | Over 95% (general line threshold) | Product |
| Dr. Bronner's, Unscented Pure-Castile Bar Soap with Organic Ingredients | Oregon Tilth/USDA NOP; Regenerative Organic Alliance | Not disclosed | Over 70% (general claim) | Ingredient (four named oils) |
| Pai, Soothing Body Cream for Eczema-Prone Skin | Soil Association, COSMOS Natural (brand claim) | Not disclosed at product level; operator licence CN18850 only | 27% (brand claim, not in COSMOS directory) | Operator level, not product |
| AESTURA, ATOBARRIER365 Cream | None disclosed | None | None | N/A |
| Illiyoon, Ceramide Ato Concentrate Cream | Unnamed vegan-certified claim | None | None | N/A |
| Dr.Jart+, Ceramidin Skin Barrier Moisturizing Cream | None disclosed | None | None | N/A |
Sources: Control Union's certified companies and products registry (Project ID 856114), PURE'AM's official Authentic Barrier Cream Balm product page, the COSMOS-standard Products Directory, Whamisa's official product pages for Organic Flowers Toner Deep Rich and Organic Pear Blossom Sunscreen, Dr. Bronner's product-certifications page, Pai Skincare's official product page together with the Soil Association's organic certificate checker, and USDA National Organic Program labeling guidance.